You are here

Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

For performing musicians and engineers: stagecraft, engineering and gear.

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby The Elf » Wed Oct 31, 2018 9:52 am

Humble Bee wrote:https://m.thomann.de/intl/cymatic_audio_utrack24_reviews.htm?i11l=en_GB%3ACH.EUR%3ACHF
That would take care of recording, but it gives me no mixer facilities - and the 'non-techs' would be absolutely baffled!
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 13737
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby ore_terra » Wed Oct 31, 2018 11:58 am

I use the Midas 32R with the X live card. record to DAW through USB and to the SD cards at the same time for back up, and I've done live mixing and recording at the same time too.

honestly, the X live card is a good addition and not that expensive considering you're gonna bundle it with the X32
User avatar
ore_terra
Frequent Poster
Posts: 660
Joined: Fri Dec 02, 2016 1:56 pm
Location: Seville - Spain

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby The Elf » Wed Oct 31, 2018 12:32 pm

ore_terra wrote:honestly, the X live card is a good addition and not that expensive considering you're gonna bundle it with the X32
:thumbup:
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 13737
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby AlecSp » Wed Oct 31, 2018 12:54 pm

Expandability is one of the areas where the X32 line shines at the budget mixer end. All of the competitors will do a decent job, but don't have the range of options that the X32 line has - stageboxes, personal mixing, SD card recording, software. I'm guessing it's the ubiquity of the product that's enabled that. And, as everyone's discovered years ago, no problems with the B brand and their digital mixers.

So, no reservations on recommending it with your use case. Remember that the Producer lacks the LCD scribble strips - honestly, you'd be daft to lose those.

For the quickest connectivity win, an 8-way jack to XLR loom would work well for you. Or possibly 2 x 4-way, depending on how you're arranged. I carry 2 4-way looms, not always used, but work a treat for carrying multiple signals from the same point, rather than running multiple single cables - quicker still than a sub-snake with a stagebox.
AlecSp
Regular
Posts: 434
Joined: Tue Nov 16, 2004 1:00 am

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby tubegeek » Wed Oct 31, 2018 4:05 pm

Dan LB wrote:Oh yeah, one other thing: be careful with the phantom power! :thumbup:

Note that one of the X32's nice features is that phantom power may be turned on/off one channel at a time (some mixers do the selection in batches of 4 or more channels.)

But that will then require you to pay more attention to this since any channel might be accidentally phantom-on. In this synth setup you maybe could create a channel template and include Phantom Off as a parameter - (I think you can set that in a template - I haven't worked much with the template feature.)

if not, you certainly can copy & paste channel setups once you have one channel set up to your liking. That could get you a standard gain setting for example that would match on each channel, if you wanted that.

Amazing board for the money.
User avatar
tubegeek
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 31, 2018 3:58 pm

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby Sam Spoons » Wed Oct 31, 2018 6:25 pm

There are schematics for phantom power blockers available on the web, they seem to comprise a couple of caps and a couple of resistors. Should be simple to build these into the TS jack sockets in the stage box if you decide to build one?
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11533
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Finally taking this recording lark seriously (and recording my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby MarkPAman » Thu Nov 01, 2018 1:09 pm

Sam Spoons wrote:Should be simple to build these into the TS jack sockets in the stage box if you decide to build one?

... but a complete b****r to put inside an XLR! Been there, burned my fingers :thumbdown:
User avatar
MarkPAman
Frequent Poster
Posts: 904
Joined: Thu Apr 06, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Somewhere between Portsmouth & Chichester

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby Sam Spoons » Thu Nov 01, 2018 2:32 pm

:clap: :bouncy: Yup, but in a stage box? Easy peasy. :thumbup:
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11533
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Finally taking this recording lark seriously (and recording my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby Wonks » Thu Nov 01, 2018 3:25 pm

Sam Spoons wrote::clap: :bouncy: Yup, but in a stage box? Easy peasy. :thumbup:

If it's that easy, then you can knock one up in a hour or so for The Elf then. :D
User avatar
Wonks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10690
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Reading, UK
Correcting mistakes on the internet since 1853

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby Sam Spoons » Thu Nov 01, 2018 4:01 pm

I'm sure Jon Godsland at Orchid would...... I suddenly find myself with and uncontrollable urge to run away.......
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11533
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Finally taking this recording lark seriously (and recording my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby Dave Rowles » Fri Nov 02, 2018 1:03 am

I've had my X32 rack version pretty much from the day of release. It's without a doubt the best piece of behringer kit I've ever encountered, and has coped with anything and everything I've thrown at it. I've used far more expensive mixers that have broken more often. I've not managed to overload the inputs on it as yet, and have plugged loads of different things in with Jack-XLR cables - Synths, acoustic guitars, drum modules etc. Only managed to blow one drum module up when I was careless with the phantom, so that warning is a good one!

One thing to be really careful of are the XLR locks/clips on the mic inputs. They have a bad habit of breaking, and a LOT of people have taken the desks apart and just removed the locks. I have removed then on mine, and it's a fairly simple procedure with a little help from YouTube.
User avatar
Dave Rowles
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1115
Joined: Thu Feb 28, 2008 1:00 am
Location: Isle of Man
http://www.manninmusic.com Bandcamp
Sound Engineer, Music Teacher, Isle of Man

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby Ramirez » Sat Nov 03, 2018 5:58 pm

Hi Elf,

I'm not 100% on what you're wanting to achieve, but I've had a quick play on the UI24R anyway. I set up the Soundcraft as an audio interface, and played back a stereo virtual instrument from Bitwig through channels 1 and 2 on the desk, and plugged a microphone into channel 5. I then set the UI24R's internal multitrack recorder to record channels 1, 2 and 5, and it recorded and played the virtual instrument and live source as expected., which is what I think you're asking for?

However, the DAW playback was glitching when changing between Bitwig and the UI24R control page (on Google Chrome browser). This may or may not be a case of finding which browser best runs the UI24 software, or finding the optimum buffer settings. I'm using an i5/8GB Surface Pro 4, and the glitching was present at the 'standard' and 'relaxed' buffer settings (6ms/12ms I think). I haven't the time to go deeper I'm afraid - this could well be a very minor, easily fixed issue, or could be a deal breaker.

Other advantages of the UI24R for you may be:

*First 10 inputs are on XLR/jack combi sockets.

*If you don't trust to connect the laptops to it wirelessly for control, I'm pretty certain you could hardwire them via ethernet. That's what I do with the Surface for a hard-wired connection at the monitor desk position at gigs, then using a cheap Samsung Galaxy tablet at front of house, as it were.
There is no app to install - you point your browser to the UI24R. All your laptops could control their own mix, and only need to switch between DAW and browser to do so. However, the above mentioned glitching could be a complete deal breaker here.

Other downsides of the UI24R is that its 48kHz only.

If you want me to to do further testing on anything specific, let me know. First baby is due any minute though, so I can't promise anything!

**UPDATE**
I tried disabling some plugins in the DAW and the problems disappeared, so it does seem dependent on CPU load. AFAIK that could well be nothing to to with the UI24R itself (or equally, it could, I suppose!) The Surface Pro 4 isn't as solid as it used to be with audio at the moment, so the UI24R could very well be more stable on your system. I can't test on another system at the moment I'm afraid.

***FUTHER UPDATE***
I've just attempted the same playback with another interface (Avid Fast Track Duo, which is nothing spectacular in terms of performance), whilst jumping between DAW and browser as before. Things are much more stable with the Avid, and the buffer settings are also lower I think. I guess this points at unstable drivers for the Souncraft. So, in conclusion - and with the caveat that it may well behave differently on another computer - whilst the UI24R does what you want it it to in theory, I can't recommend it.

I'll flag this up ond the FB UI24R group, where one of the UI24R developers regularly contribute. If it's of interest I'll post any sensible replies here.

Hope that helps,
Aled
Ramirez
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1029
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Bethesda, Cymru
Bill Withers while Tom Waits, and Stan Getz

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby The Elf » Sat Nov 03, 2018 6:14 pm

Thanks for checking up for me. It does look a very slick piece of kit and the price is good.

It does sound like it would be up to the task, so I took a closer look and offered it up for consideration. The lack of knobs and faders will, I fear, be it's downfall for us.
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 13737
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby Ramirez » Sat Nov 03, 2018 6:16 pm

The Elf wrote:Thanks for checking up for me. It does look a very slick piece of kit and the price is good.

It does sound like it would be up to the task, so I took a closer look and offered it up for consideration. The lack of knobs and faders will, I fear, be it's downfall for us.

No problem.
In case you missed it, I've edited my post with a couple of fairly significant updates.

Aled
Ramirez
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1029
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Bethesda, Cymru
Bill Withers while Tom Waits, and Stan Getz

Re: Anyone using a Behringer X32 with synths?

Postby Ramirez » Sun Nov 04, 2018 12:35 am

As a follow-up to the above, and in the interest of fairness to Soundcraft (particularly Danny Olesh who responded very quickly to my concerns)

I tried the UI on a different USB port and it seems to have sorted the problem out.
Ramirez
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1029
Joined: Tue Oct 24, 2006 12:00 am
Location: Bethesda, Cymru
Bill Withers while Tom Waits, and Stan Getz

PreviousNext