You are here

Help! My new audio interface isn't picking up sig from mic!

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

Re: Help! My new audio interface isn't picking up sig from mic!

Postby Gideon26 » Fri Nov 09, 2018 9:46 am

blinddrew wrote:Do you have access to (via a friend or in an old box somewhere) another mic and cable you can use to test?
At the moment the problem could be in the mic, the cable, or the interface. The earlier you can shorten that list the quicker you solve your problem. :)

I have another cable (brand new blucoil), which I have already tried but got the same results (or lack of results :tongue: )

I have a power box that came with my BM-800 so I will test that soon.

Not sure about testing another mic... I think one of my friends has a mic, I'll have to ask him about it.
Gideon26
Poster
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 2:51 pm

Re: Help! My new audio interface isn't picking up sig from mic!

Postby ef37a » Fri Nov 09, 2018 10:00 am

"Not sure about testing another mic... I think one of my friends has a mic, I'll have to ask him about it."

Ask if he has a test meter as well! Does not HAVE to be digital. An old Avo 8 or a Simpson would do famously.

Dave.
ef37a
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11498
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 12:00 am
Location: northampton uk

Re: Help! My new audio interface isn't picking up sig from mic!

Postby Gideon26 » Fri Nov 09, 2018 10:02 am

ef37a wrote:"Not sure about testing another mic... I think one of my friends has a mic, I'll have to ask him about it."

Ask if he has a test meter as well! Does not HAVE to be digital. An old Avo 8 or a Simpson would do famously.

Dave.

:thumbup: I'll be sure to ask. Thanks
Gideon26
Poster
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 2:51 pm

Re: Help! My new audio interface isn't picking up sig from mic!

Postby Rich Hanson » Fri Nov 09, 2018 2:23 pm

I might be off base as I am unfamiliar with this mic, but if it comes with an XLR to TRS lead, does that suggest it would be using the computer's 5V supply? If so, could connecting it to 48V phantom power might have done something unfortunate to it?
User avatar
Rich Hanson
Frequent Poster
Posts: 1951
Joined: Sat Sep 06, 2003 12:00 am
Location: UK

Re: Help! My new audio interface isn't picking up sig from mic!

Postby ef37a » Fri Nov 09, 2018 2:37 pm

Rich Hanson wrote:I might be off base as I am unfamiliar with this mic, but if it comes with an XLR to TRS lead, does that suggest it would be using the computer's 5V supply? If so, could connecting it to 48V phantom power might have done something unfortunate to it?

No, the microphone uses an "Electret" capsule, a pemantly charged capacitor cell (like a magnet but electricakle) and so the only power the mic needs is for the impedance converter amplifier. This can be derived from the 5V at most laptop mic jacks or indeed from 48V spook juice.

Dave.
ef37a
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11498
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 12:00 am
Location: northampton uk

Re: Help! My new audio interface isn't picking up sig from mic!

Postby Gideon26 » Fri Nov 09, 2018 3:04 pm

I tested the BM-800 with the power box that came with it, and it works. So I don't think the mic is the problem.
Gideon26
Poster
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 2:51 pm

Re: Help! My new audio interface isn't picking up sig from mic!

Postby Wonks » Fri Nov 09, 2018 3:28 pm

If you are using the same male to female XLR lead between the mic and the phantom power module, where are you plugging in the cable from the phantom power module to? Into the PC's own soundcard with the 3.5mm jack lead, or into the UMC with another male to female XLR lead?

We have to keep guessing here as you aren't telling us all the connection details. We need to know the full signal chain of what works and what doesn't work.

Photos would help. You'll have to host the photos elsewhere then link to them here.
User avatar
Wonks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10884
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Reading, UK
Correcting mistakes on the internet since 1853

Re: Help! My new audio interface isn't picking up sig from mic!

Postby Gideon26 » Sat Nov 10, 2018 9:46 am

Image

Here is my setup. Hope this helps.
Gideon26
Poster
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 2:51 pm

Re: Help! My new audio interface isn't picking up sig from mic!

Postby ef37a » Sat Nov 10, 2018 10:17 am

Gideon26 wrote:Image

Here is my setup. Hope this helps.

No!

Dave. Ah! If I right clk on the red "im" I get it (pics are all a bit of a trial these days?) but it STILL does not tell us what we need to know!

You say "the mic works directly into the mac" How? Is that via the 3.5mm jack and if so I suspect the problem is in the BM-800 and the 48V to 5V reducing circuitry.
ef37a
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11498
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 12:00 am
Location: northampton uk

Re: Help! My new audio interface isn't picking up sig from mic!

Postby John Willett » Sat Nov 10, 2018 10:46 am

Here is the picture that would not display above:-

Image
User avatar
John Willett
Jedi Poster
Posts: 7089
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2000 1:00 am
Location: Oxfordshire UK
John
Sound-Link ProAudio
Circle Sound Services
Sound-Link are UK Distributors for: Microtech Gefell, ME-Geithain, AETA, HUM, Håkan, Meyer Turtle

Re: Help! My new audio interface isn't picking up sig from mic!

Postby Gideon26 » Sat Nov 10, 2018 10:48 am

John Willett wrote:Here is the picture that would not display above:-

Image

Thank you! I'm not exactly sure why mine don't show up...what am I doing wrong?
Gideon26
Poster
Posts: 18
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2018 2:51 pm

Re: Help! My new audio interface isn't picking up sig from mic!

Postby ef37a » Sat Nov 10, 2018 10:50 am

Gideon26 wrote:
John Willett wrote:Here is the picture that would not display above:-

Image

Thank you! I'm not exactly sure why mine don't show up...what am I doing wrong?

We shall be told G but I do know it ain't just you.

Dave.
ef37a
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11498
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 12:00 am
Location: northampton uk

Re: Help! My new audio interface isn't picking up sig from mic!

Postby John Willett » Sat Nov 10, 2018 10:52 am

Gideon26 wrote:
John Willett wrote:Here is the picture that would not display above:-

Image

Thank you! I'm not exactly sure why mine don't show up...what am I doing wrong?

No idea - I got your image to display by right-clicking and selecting "view image".

I than right-clicked on the displayed image and clicked "view image info".

I then copied this - clicked the "Img" tag at the top of the new post I was writing and pasted the URL between the two [image] marks.
User avatar
John Willett
Jedi Poster
Posts: 7089
Joined: Tue Mar 07, 2000 1:00 am
Location: Oxfordshire UK
John
Sound-Link ProAudio
Circle Sound Services
Sound-Link are UK Distributors for: Microtech Gefell, ME-Geithain, AETA, HUM, Håkan, Meyer Turtle

Re: Help! My new audio interface isn't picking up sig from mic!

Postby CS70 » Sat Nov 10, 2018 11:34 am

Is your picture your actual setup? The connections seem alright, but there's a few button and knobs which need be in the right position:

- button "line/inst" for the input 1 set to "line"
- gain knob for input 1 around 12:00 or more (like in the pic)
- main out at a good level (over 0)
- the FX mix set all to the left (no FX for starting).
- "monitor" set to the actual outputs you have connected (A or B).
- if the BM800 has an on/off switch, make sure it's turned on :-)

Couple of side notes: if you're using passive speakers (i.e. u're connecting the phono outs) you will need a power amp to drive them. Also if the interface comes with a software mixer, levels and gains must be over 0 there as well.. but since you don't get any light in the input, these aren't probably pertinent here, even if you should see a signal light even if you didn't hear anything.

If your controls are apprx in that position (and as you increase gain and main out nothing happens) and still it doesn't work, I'm afraid that there's something wrong with either the interface or the mic.
User avatar
CS70
Jedi Poster
Posts: 5284
Joined: Mon Nov 26, 2012 1:00 am
Location: Oslo, Norway
Silver Spoon - Check out our latest video and the FB page

Re: Help! My new audio interface isn't picking up sig from mic!

Postby Wonks » Sat Nov 10, 2018 11:37 am

CS70 wrote: - button "line/inst" for the input 1 set to "line"

It's a mic on an XLR so this button doesn't matter at all in this instance.

I don't think the evil Google make it possible to view the image directly from elsewhere, you have to visit the page itself to see it. I've hosted it elsewhere so it can be seen easily.

Image
User avatar
Wonks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10884
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Reading, UK
Correcting mistakes on the internet since 1853

PreviousNext