You are here

Low latency ?

All about the tools and techniques involved in capturing sound, in the studio or on location.

Re: Low latency ?

Postby The Elf » Thu Jan 30, 2020 1:24 pm

ef37a wrote:If you can find a Mk1 NI KA6 for around a ton you will have a super low latency bargain.
+1

That's now my tip for a bargain. I think these things will hold their money for some time if people realise their worth.
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 13768
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: Low latency ?

Postby ef37a » Thu Jan 30, 2020 3:33 pm

Apart from the KA6 there will be no 'bargain' AIs about that can hold a match leave alone a candle to the 2496 for latency. Why the change?

To go a bit "left field" as our colonial cousins say, you could buy a small mixer to drive the 2495 if you wanted mic inputs? Son did that for some time with a Behringer Xenyx 802. We moved up to an A&H ZED 10. Better and much more comprehensive but the mic pres were not startlingly better than the X802. That is to say both were very good.

You might even find a pre amp with S/PDIF out and get 4 channels?

Dave.
ef37a
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11289
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 12:00 am
Location: northampton uk

Re: Low latency ?

Postby Dicko » Thu Jan 30, 2020 5:14 pm

Hi
The change is because sometimes Cubase will not open properly because of the soundcard software. I then have to close everything down and start again. (This usally does it and evrything is then OK). Having said that because of your last comment i may just leave it alone, many thanks for the info'.
AD
Dicko
Regular
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 12:00 am
Location: Allesley

Re: Low latency ?

Postby ef37a » Thu Jan 30, 2020 6:17 pm

Now then, the KA6 originally came with a light version of Cubase and so it would be reasonable to assume the AI is happy with that? Therefore if you did go for a USB interface, maybe put KA6 top of list?

I recall we had a few niggles with the 2496, nothing major and I knew even less about computer sound than I do now! What I did was put the 2495 drivers on the desktop. Not big, about 3.5M iirc and I would run the drivers at startup. Took maybe a minute or so and after that eveything was stable.

Dave.
ef37a
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11289
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 12:00 am
Location: northampton uk

Re: Low latency ?

Postby Dicko » Fri Jan 31, 2020 9:27 am

Thanks for your help.
Dicko
Regular
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 12:00 am
Location: Allesley

Re: Low latency ?

Postby Dicko » Sun Mar 22, 2020 12:02 pm

I'm back !
I've got a Native Instruments K A 6 mk 1 off Ebay and am just trynig it out.
Using Cubase 10.5 i have to keep it at 256 samples else the Audio performance goes up.
The latency is saying 8 micro sec in and 10 micro sec out
Is this an acceptable latency ?
using the Native Instruments panel the system latency is 100 micro sec.
My old M-Audio 2496 card is 6 micro sec in and 6 micro sec out so the USB interface isn't up to the sound card
Are all USB interfaces as slow ? the problem would be in trying every interface out.
Dicko
Regular
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 12:00 am
Location: Allesley

Re: Low latency ?

Postby Arpangel » Sun Mar 22, 2020 1:20 pm

I’m using a PC with a Behringer Uphoria interface, I’ve latency down to 2ms in and 3ms out, using a setting of 64.
My Mac is about the same, using an old MOTU 828 via FireWire/Thunderbolt adaptor.
User avatar
Arpangel
Frequent Poster (Level2)
Posts: 3015
Joined: Sat Jul 12, 2003 12:00 am

Re: Low latency ?

Postby Dicko » Sun Mar 22, 2020 1:44 pm

Thanks i'll have a look at the behringer.
If i go lower thwn 256 samples though cubase resources lower dramatically.
Dicko
Regular
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 12:00 am
Location: Allesley

Re: Low latency ?

Postby Sam Spoons » Sun Mar 22, 2020 1:52 pm

Thinking back to my PC/Windoze days (probably 15-20 years ago) isn't latency purely a function of buffer size? If that's the case then the computer is what limits the latency not the interface. TBH I don't think about it anymore as I us a Behringer X32 as the front end to my recording system and, 'cos I'm monitoring through the desk latency is fixed at 1ms.

FWIW I tried some digital IEMs which had a latency of 18ms. I found this unacceptable and some experiments (using wired IEMs and a delay patched into the bus feeding them to simulate latency) revealed I could just cope with 6ms latency but any more and singing with the IEMs in became very difficult.
User avatar
Sam Spoons
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11574
Joined: Thu Jan 23, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Manchester UK
Finally taking this recording lark seriously (and recording my Gypsy Jazz CD)........

Re: Low latency ?

Postby Dicko » Sun Mar 22, 2020 2:09 pm

it may be that i buy more headphones and monitor through the interface instead of what's coming out of the DAW.
Dicko
Regular
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 12:00 am
Location: Allesley

Re: Low latency ?

Postby Wonks » Sun Mar 22, 2020 2:24 pm

Dicko wrote:The latency is saying 8 micro sec in and 10 micro sec out
Is this an acceptable latency ?

Milliseconds, not microseconds. 8 microseconds would be 0.008 ms and would be an unfeasibly small (and undetectable) latency.
User avatar
Wonks
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10720
Joined: Thu May 29, 2003 12:00 am
Location: Reading, UK
Correcting mistakes on the internet since 1853

Re: Low latency ?

Postby The Elf » Sun Mar 22, 2020 2:34 pm

Dicko wrote:I've got a Native Instruments K A 6 mk 1 off Ebay and am just trynig it out.
Using Cubase 10.5 i have to keep it at 256 samples...
My KA6 is running cleanly in Cubase at 32 samples, which suggests that the restriction can't be down to the hardware or drivers as such.

Have you checked to see what else is going on in your PC?
User avatar
The Elf
Jedi Poster
Posts: 13768
Joined: Tue Aug 14, 2001 12:00 am
Location: Sheffield, UK
An Eagle for an Emperor, A Kestrel for a Knave.

Re: Low latency ?

Postby Dicko » Sun Mar 22, 2020 3:13 pm

It can run but the Audio Performance Meter starts to climb steadily which means i'm running out of steam.
Dicko
Regular
Posts: 285
Joined: Mon Jun 16, 2008 12:00 am
Location: Allesley

Re: Low latency ?

Postby ef37a » Sun Mar 22, 2020 3:18 pm

The Elf wrote:
Dicko wrote:I've got a Native Instruments K A 6 mk 1 off Ebay and am just trynig it out.
Using Cubase 10.5 i have to keep it at 256 samples...
My KA6 is running cleanly in Cubase at 32 samples, which suggests that the restriction can't be down to the hardware or drivers as such.

Have you checked to see what else is going on in your PC?

Yes, the KA6 should run at 32 samples. I had mine at 128 samples on a pretty slow desktop (3G AMD Ath ll X2 200).

Since it is second hand check for the latest firmware up dates but also look into the computer's performance, maybe something awry with the USB drivers?

Dave.
ef37a
Jedi Poster
Posts: 11289
Joined: Mon May 29, 2006 12:00 am
Location: northampton uk

Re: Low latency ?

Postby Folderol » Sun Mar 22, 2020 3:42 pm

I normally run my KA6 at 64 samples (48kHz), but for testing purposes drop it to 32. Like that I get very occasional Xruns with a set of heavy duty patch combinations, whereas it's clean at 64. This is on a middle-aged Intel dual core running at 3.1G

Some USB subsystems can cause problems especially if they are internally shared, so it's always worth trying different sockets. Also some of the supplied firmware leaves a lot to be desired, newest might not necessarily be best!
User avatar
Folderol
Jedi Poster
Posts: 10070
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2008 1:00 am
Location: The Mudway Towns, UK
Yes. I am that Linux nut.
Onwards and... err... sideways!

PreviousNext