You are here

Comment / Opinion

  • link

    Why I Love... Sonic Vacation Albums

    Sonal D'Silva

    Since a work trip to the Seychelles, I’ve created a sonic album of every trip I’ve been on and it’s glorious; I can’t believe I didn’t think to do it earlier.

    People Jan 2024
  • link

    Leader: Keeping In Touch

    Sam Inglis

    If we’re not going to embrace new technologies, if we’re not willing to learn and exploit new tools, what are studios going to be for?

    People Jan 2024
  • link
    Hugh Robjohns (L) and Paul White (R)

    Gear Of The Year 2023 | SOS Podcast

    Paul and Hugh's favourite 2023 gear releases

    Paul White and Hugh Robjohns pick their software and hardware highlights from the last 12 months.

    Reviews Jan 2024
  • link

    Talkback: Andrea Rocha

    Songwriter & Producer

    Mexican‑Canadian songwriter and producer Andrea Rocha was classically trained and has worked with some of pop’s brightest stars, including Ellie Goulding, Gabrielle Aplin and Becky Hill.

    People Dec 2023
  • link

    Why I Love... Recording Outside Studios

    Joe Osborne

    Our ears are so used to hearing music made in recording studios that it can sound quite different to hear something that was recorded with an ambience...

    People Dec 2023
  • link

    Leader: The Unequal Struggle

    Sam Inglis

    You can get superb results from a free soft synth or a £100 mic, but confident mixing decisions still require a high‑quality monitoring system in a decent acoustic environment.

    People Dec 2023
  • link

    Talkback: Grimm Grimm

    Producer & Artist Koichi Yamanoha

    It was roughly a decade after moving to the UK from West Tokyo in 2004 that Japanese producer and artist Koichi Yamanoha came up with the kaleidoscopic mix of folk, art‑rock and psychedelia he calls Grimm Grimm.

    People Nov 2023
  • link

    Why I Love... My Les Paul Junior

    Sam Murray

    If you were to ask me which electric guitar I most pick up when I play for pleasure, not work, I do have an answer, absolutely and definitively.

    People Nov 2023
  • link

    Leader: Tempting Fate

    Sam Inglis

    There’s something inspiring about stories of unexpected success, and by ensuring the quality is there, we can at least open up the possibility of success.

    People Nov 2023
  • link

    Modular Profile: Corry Banks (aka Bboytech)

    Modbap

    American musician and technologist Corry Banks, aka Bboytech, is the driving force behind Modbap.

    People Oct 2023
  • link

    Talkback: Becca Mancari

    Puerto Rican‑Italian Artist

    “I have an impulsive streak,” confesses Puerto Rican‑Italian artist Becca Mancari. That impulsive streak brought Mancari to Music City around a decade ago, and it was in Nashville that they met a host of future collaborators.

    People Oct 2023
  • link

    Why I Love... My Nagra VI

    Hugh Robjohns

    The Nagra VI is a visually stunning, operationally simple, and a technologically versatile 8‑track digital audio recorder, derived from a long genealogy of superb‑sounding and beautifully engineered machines...

    People Oct 2023
  • link

    Leader: Flying The Flag

    Sam Inglis

    Patriotism doesn’t always come naturally to Britons, but if anything can provoke a swell of national pride, it’s our track record in mixing console design.

    People Oct 2023
  • link

    Clip Gain

    The Secret To Smooth Vocal Control

    Most DAWs give you the power to control the volume of recorded audio on a per‑clip level — and with this power comes immense creative potential!

    Techniques Sep 2023
  • link

    Modular Profile: Modular Princess

    Engineer, Producer & Creator Arushi Jain

    Arushi Jain has toured the world over as Modular Princess, with a critically acclaimed brand of electronic composition infused with the influence of Hindustani classical music.

    People Sep 2023
  • link

    Reading The Room

    Producing With Empathy

    Creating an environment where artists can flourish means building trust, understanding people and valuing everyone’s input.

    Sound Advice Sep 2023
  • link

    Talkback: Mörmaid

    Artist & Producer Live Sollid

    Norwegian artist and producer Live Sollid began her musical journey in the world of jazz, but is now exploring the outer reaches of progressive electronica and experimental pop...

    People Sep 2023
  • link

    The Change Makers

    Meet the producers, engineers, songwriters and musicians

    Meet the producers, engineers, songwriters and musicians featured on this month’s Sound On Sound front cover.

    People Sep 2023
  • link

    Why I Love... Change

    Emily Lazar

    When Catherine Marks asked me to be a part of this special issue of SOS, I was honoured to be included among this awesome community of women.

    People Sep 2023
  • link

    Workers’ Rights In The Studio

    Safer Spaces

    Up‑and‑coming engineers and producers deserve protection from exploitation, discrimination and sexual harassment.

    Sound Advice Sep 2023
  • link

    Guest Leader: Change Is Happening

    Catherine Marks

    Catherine Marks, Executive Director of the Music Producers Guild, explains the motivation behind this 'Change Makers' themed SOS edition.

    People Sep 2023

Pages

Subscribe to RSS - Comment / Opinion