You are here

Spitfire Symphony Orchestra enhanced and re-released

Renowned collection now available as all-in-one library

Spitfire Audio Spitfire Symphony Orchestra string woodwind brass percussion harp piano Kontakt 7 Player library A decade has passed since Spitfire Audio took to AIR Studios to record their Spitfire Symphony Orchestra (or SSO) collection, and since its initial release in 2017 it remains a hugely popular choice among composers around the world. The company have now combined the original libraries with percussion, piano and harp offerings (Spitfire Percussion, Spitfire Harp, Orchestral Grand and Masse) into a single package that has been treated to a new GUI courtesy of Kontakt 7 Player, along with some enhancements including new legatos.

In its latest iteration, SSO now offers a 118-piece orchestra with a comprehensive selection of over 800 articulations, along with multiple dynamic layers and up to eight round robins, all presented in a brand new Kontakt 7 Player-based interface offers quick and easy access to the entire collection in one place. The strings, brass and woodwind sections benefit from an Ostinatum mode, and there’s an all-new performance legato programmed by Andy Blaney. The percussion section has been mapped across the keyboard in a way that allows two-handed playing, and blended section patches for the strings, brass and woodwind are provided for quick and easy scoring.


Spitfire Symphony Orchestra runs in Native Instruments’ Kontakt Player 7.5.2 or higher, which is supported on PCs running Windows 10 or 11, and Macs running macOS 11 and above. VST3, AU and AAX plug-in versions are available. The download size for the library is 345GB.

Pricing & Availability

Spitfire Symphony Orchestra is available now, priced at $629£499 including VAT / €569. Until 7 March 2024, Spitfire Audio are offering a 20% discount. Crossgrade offers are available for those who already own parts of the original collection, and those who own all Spitfire Symphonic Strings, Brass, Woodwind (Core or Professional) and Spitfire Percussion will receive the new library for free.

Also in the news