You are here

Tone Science new release

Module No.4 Form and Function

Tone Science Module No.4 Form and Function albumTone Science Module No.4 Form and Function album

The Tone Science sub-label, from DiN records, continues to explore the world of modular synth music.

Following the success and critical acclaim of the first three Tone Science compilation albums, DiN label boss Ian Boddy has collated another nine tracks from musicians of varying backgrounds working in the realms of modular synthesis.

One of the challenges for Boddy in compiling the Tone Science albums is to get the track order flowing to reveal a musical structure. There’s a certain amount of serendipity in this but for Tone Science V4 the shape of the album became very obvious early on. 

Opening with the beautiful abstract forms created on a vintage Paperface Serge system by Batchas the next two tracks feature gentle shimmering and undulating sequencer patterns from Lightbath and Panic Girl that instil a sense of calm and wonder.

This leads us to the middle section of the album where first Andrew Huang gently slows down proceedings with harmonic abstract patterns before Stefan Bojczuk twists the mood with a stark, moody atmosphere conjuring up images of the isolated landscape referenced in the title of his track, Blackstone Edge.

Things start to climb up to the sonic climax of the album with first Ebcidic providing a dark and dangerous pulsing sequence followed by a crazy psychedelic melange of a track from the inimitable Steve Davis. This is followed by a sledgehammer of audio from Mattia Cupelli, with huge gnarly bass and TNT percussion from which there seems to be no escape.

After such an astonishing climax, the longest track on the album by Tim Held at first appears to mirror the distorted tones of the previous track before a sense of calm ensues and the album finishes with a final long, beautiful breath.

Tone Science Module No.4 Form and Function continues the journey down the rabbit hole of possibilities and sound worlds inhabited by artists and musicians working in this ever fascinating and varied musical field.

01 Setting Sun by Batchas 7:42
02 Eternal Terrarium by Lightbath 6:40
03 Dream Portal by Panic Girl 5:20
04 Astral Plane by Andrew Huang 5:16
05 Blackstone Edge by Stefan Bojczuk 6:31
06 Different Paces by Ebcidic 6:33
07 Elements of Medical by Steve Davis 7:42
08 ex Machina by Mattia Cupelli 7:44
09 Myrdet av Gud by Tim Held 9:14
Total Time: 62:58

Limited to 555 copies. Digipak CD format and available as a Download from Bandcamp.…

Also in the news