You are here

Slate + Ash Landforms

Sample Library By Dave Gale
Published November 2021

Slate + Ash Landforms

Slate + Ash take a different approach to the orchestral sample library.

The Kontakt instrument format seems to have become an ecosystem all of its own in recent years, with more and more developers seeking to provide content to keep musicians and producers stimulated. While many of these instruments adopt a relatively familiar form, there are occasions when developers seek to shake up the Kontakt norm. This could certainly be said of Simon Ashdown and Will Slater, who form the partnership Slate + Ash. Their latest Kontakt‑based instrument, Landforms, draws upon their impressive output and credentials as composers and sound designers.

Sampling From The Real World

At the core of Landforms is a beautifully curated set of acoustic samples, with a little bit of source content in the guise of sound design. Sample capture was undertaken at Real World Studios, in the Wood Room.

Recordings took place in the Wood Room at Real World Studios.Recordings took place in the Wood Room at Real World Studios.

The vast majority of Landforms instruments are assembled in groups of three; while these instruments conform to section types, some of the blends are really quite interesting. For example, the low woodwind samples consist of a combination of bass clarinet, bassoon and baritone sax. This keeps things blended within the section construct, but as with any traditional nuclear family, there’s enough diversity to keep things interesting.

This concept doesn’t end here, though. Each instrument has been meticulously spot‑miked, and the Wood Room has also been strewn with ambient mics in order to capture all the nuances and resonances that the room can offer. As we’ll find later, this provides an irresistible level of control, which extends well beyond the traditional concept of blending the room reverberation with the instrumental sample.

Returning to the sample content, instrument collectives are elegantly organised. The strings are presented in groups of basses, cellos and violins, while the woodwinds are split into high winds and low winds, with an additional trio of flutes. The brass are a little more generic, being split between high and low instrumentation. Flute and Violin are also featured in...

You are reading one of the locked Subscriber-only articles from our latest 5 issues.

You've read some of this article for free, so to continue reading...

  • Log in - if you have a Subscription you bought from SOS.
  • Buy & Download this Single Article in PDF format £1.00 GBP$1.49 USD
    For less than the price of a coffee, buy now and immediately download to your computer or smartphone.
  • Buy & Download the Full Issue PDF 
    Our 'full SOS magazine' for smartphone/tablet/computer. More info...
  • Buy a DIGITAL subscription (or Print + Digital)
    Instantly unlock ALL premium web articles! Visit our ShopStore.

Claim your FREE 170-page digital publication
from the makers of Sound On SoundCLICK HERE