You are here

Abbey Road One: Soaring High Strings from Spitfire Audio

Final instalment in Abbey Road One series arrives

Spitfire Audio Abbey Road One Soaring High Strings orchestral sample library

The much-anticipated final instalment of Spitfire Audio’s Abbey Road One series has arrived, rounding off the collection with an ensemble of 16 first violins and 14 second violins. Soaring High Strings promises to deliver a rich, harmonious sound tailored for romantic, lyrical passages, whilst also being capable of creating high-speed runs.

Since the release of Abbey Road One: Orchestral Foundations — which captures each main section of a 90-piece symphonic orchestra — the series has evolved in response to user feedback, with each subsequent launch providing additional content played by more concentrated sections. Each of the releases can serve as independent libraries as well as being blended seamlessly with Orchestral Foundations.

Soaring High Strings provides legato, long and short articulations performed by the 30-strong violin section, and is made up of entirely new recordings captured in the legendary facility’s Studio One. All three options boast multiple dynamic layers, whilst the legatos feature slurred notes and alternative fast attacks to ensure realistic-sounding fast runs and short notes benefit from five round robins.

It wouldn’t be a Spitfire library without a wealth of microphone position choices, and there’s a total of 12 signal options that offer a pair of mixes created by Grammy-winning engineer Simon Rhodes along with 10 individual mic signals for users to craft their own perfect balance. Two Decca Tree options are joined by a pair of classic mics placed in front of the conductor for a vintage scoring stage sound, and some closer spot mics offer a character that will fit in well with more modern productions. There are also Ambients and Spill signals aimed at those seeking some additional room sound.


Abbey Road One: Soaring High Strings is presented in Spitfire’s own plug-in, which is supported on PCs running Windows 10 or 11, and Macs running macOS 10.15 and above. VST2, VST3, AU and AAX versions are available.

Pricing & Availability

Abbey Road One: Soaring High Strings is available now, priced at $49£49 including VAT / €49. It can also be purchased as part of Abbey Road One: The Collection.

Also in the news