You are here

Chamber Strings Essentials from Spitfire Audio

Streamlined edition of popular library announced

Spitfire Audio Chamber Strings Essential orchestral sample library small section

Spitfire Chamber Strings Essentials offers a streamlined version of the library which started out as a private project and led to the creation of Spitfire Audio. Previously available in two versions, the Chamber Strings range remains one of the company’s most popular products, and is now available in a third form that offers a reduced set of articulations and microphone signals at a much lower price point.

The library features a 16-player string section comprising four first violins, three second violins, three violas, three cellos and three basses, captured at London’s AIR Studios. The aim of the original library was to create the sought-after blockbuster sound, but with a detail and focus that is harder to achieve with larger symphony-sized sections. In addition to offering the sound of a smaller section, Chamber Strings can also be used to create realistic split section arrangements, or blended with libraries that feature larger ensembles.

The new Essentials version features a single (slurred) legato, as well as long, long harmonics, unmeasured tremolo and trill (major and minor second) articulations, along with spiccato, staccato and pizzicato techniques. It is still possible to adjust the overall sound of the instruments thanks to the inclusion of close and Decca Tree microphone signals.


Chamber Strings Essentials runs in Native Instruments’ Kontakt Player 5.6.8 or above, which is supported on PCs running Windows 7 and higher, and Macs running macOS 10.13 to 12. VST, AU and AAX plug-in versions are available. The library requires 28GB of disk space.

Pricing & Availability

Chamber Strings Essentials is available now, priced at $249£199 including VAT / €229.

Also in the news