You are here

Spitfire Audio reveal Abbey Road Orchestra 1st Violins

Latest string release features eight legato types

Spitfire Audio Abbey Road Orchestra 1st Violins orchestral sample library

Spitfire Audio have announced the upcoming release of the next instalment of their latest orchestral library series, Abbey Road Orchestra 1st Violins. It has been created using entirely new recording and development techniques, and as requested by the composer community, will be the first section in the new range to be delivered in two versions: Core and Professional.

The Core version will provide a comprehensive selection of articulations, along with a pre-mixed output signal created by Grammy award-winning engineer Simon Rhodes. The Professional tier then promises to go above and beyond anything that the company have created previously, with an even more extensive set of articulations — including no fewer than eight legato variations optimised for different playing speeds and styles — joined by 14 mic positions and a pair of mixes created by Rhodes.

Key Specs


  • 16 Violins
  • One Simon Rhodes mix 
  • 11,000 samples
  • 3.9GB download size


  • 16 Violins
  • 16 mic signals (including two Simon Rhodes mixes)
  • Extended legato techniques
  • 196,000 samples
  • 85.5GB download size


Abbey Road Orchestra: 1st Violins is housed in Spitfire’s own player, which is supported on PCs running Windows 7 and above, and Macs running macOS 10.13 and higher. It is available in VST2, VST3, AU and AAX plug-in formats.

Pricing & Availability

Abbey Road Orchestra: 1st Violins is available to pre-order now, and will be available to download on 28 September 2023. Those who pre-order before 28 September will benefit from a 20% discount, and crossgrade prices will be available to all Abbey Road Orchestra and Orchestral Foundations product owners until 12 October 2023. Prices are as follows:

  • Core: $199£159 including VAT/ / €179 (usually $249£199 including VAT / €229)
  • Professional: $359£279 including VAT/ / €319 (usually $449£349 including VAT / €399)

Also in the news