You are here

Felt Instruments Blisko Collection

Sample Libraries By Mark Nowakowski
Published January 2021

Felt Instruments Blisko Collection

Felt Instruments’ Blisko Collection offers a unique blend of sound and motion.

There is a particularly austere and engaging aesthetic to Felt Instruments products, which seemingly emerges straight from the soil of Polish culture. Trapped for years behind the Iron Curtain, the country managed to maintain a unique cultural and international profile instead of just melting into a larger Soviet soup. Despite strict censorship (or perhaps in spite of it), great composers emerged and with them entirely new ways of creating music. The film scores of Kilar and Preisner, the sonoristic experiments of Penderecki, and the new tonality of Henryk Gorecki are good examples. Through this time and into the new independence beginning in the 1990’s, Poland had robust community music programs as well as excellent education in maths and later computer science. In recent years her growing international creative profile has given rise to a revolution in video game making (such as the iconic Witcher series) as well as popular forays into streaming services such as Netflix. It was only a matter of time, therefore, before she gave us something of real consequence in the realm of virtual instruments.

Enter Felt Instruments, founded by composer and engineer Tomek Ślesicki in collaboration with the sensational genre‑bending multi‑instrumentalist Marta Zalewska (seriously, look up her YouTube videos). Their latest and most ambitious effort is the Blisko series, comprised of a violin, viola and cello (available separately or as a suite). The...

You are reading one of the locked Subscriber-only articles from our latest 5 issues.

You've read 20% of this article for free, so to continue reading...

  • Buy & Download this Single Article in PDF format £1.00 GBP$1.49 USD
    For less than the price of a coffee, buy now and immediately download to your computer or smartphone.
  • Buy & Download the Full Issue PDF 
    Our 'full SOS magazine' for smartphone/tablet/computer. More info...
  • Buy a DIGITAL subscription (or Print + Digital)
    Instantly unlock ALL premium web articles! Visit our ShopStore.
Published January 2021