You are here

Sound of the Year Awards 2022

SOS to sponsor Best Innovation in Sound Technology category

Sound of the Year Awards 2022

The Sound of the Year Awards are returning for their third year, with submissions now officially open. Presented by The Radiophonic Institute and The Museum of Sound, the awards celebrate sound in all its forms, from everyday sounds that encapsulate the events of the past year, to the most creative and innovative new audio technology. The winner of each category will receive a pair of basicUcho microphones, courtesy of LOM.

Sound On Sound are proud to be sponsoring the Best Innovation in Sound Technology category for this year's awards. 


  • Best Natural Sound - in partnership with the Natural History Museum
  • Disappearing Sound: A Sound Worth Saving* - in partnership with The British Library
  • Composed with Sound - in partnership with Accidental
  • Best Sound Innovation in Everyday Life - in partnership with Quiet Mark
  • Best Imagined Sound - in partnership with the Southbank Centre’s National Poetry Library
  • Most Unpleasant Sound - in partnership with UK Hearing Conservation Association
  • Best Innovation in Sound Technology - in partnership with Sound On Sound
  • Most Ridiculous Sound - Children’s category - details to follow soon...

*Shortlisted and winning entries for this category will be archived in The British Library’s Sound Archive.


  • Alannah Chance - Audio Producer, Somerset House Trust
  • Ain Bailey - Sound Artist
  • Axel Kacoutié - Audio Artist and Poet
  • Christian Ching - Bio-Acoustics Scientist, Natural History Museum
  • Emeka Ogboh - Sound and Installation Artist
  • Kate Carr - Field Recordist and Sound Artist, Flaming Pines Record Label Owner
  • Kirsty Whalley - Oscar-winning Mixing Engineer
  • Dr. Linda O’Keefe - Sound Artist, University of Edinburgh
  • Prof. Trevor Cox - Professor of Acoustic Engineering, University of Salford
  • Rana Eid - db Studios, Beirut
  • Poppy Szkiler - Quiet Mark
  • Matthew Herbert - Chair of Judges / The Radiophonic Institute


Submissions can be made though the Sound of the Year website, and must all have been recorded, heard, released, or created between 1 January 2022 and 31 December 2022. It is possible to nominate yourself, your team, or others, and credit should always be given to the sound recordist, artist, or creator where known. Multiple submissions per person are allowed, although they must be made using separate forms. It is mandatory to attach an audio file to each submission, with the exception of the of the ‘Best Imaginary Sound’ category, which requires just a written submission.

The deadline for submissions is 28 February 2023. The winners will be announced in Spring 2023, with an awards ceremony to be held at The British Library.

Also in the news